(AP) Teen drivers in Connecticut are now facing stricter rules, including an earlier curfew and more on-the-road training.
A state law that took effect Friday imposes an 11 p.m. curfew on 16- and 17-year-old drivers, with some exceptions. That's an hour earlier than the old law required. The number of hours of required on-the-road instruction has doubled to 40 hours, and parents and guardians must attend two hours of classroom training with their teens.
Young drivers also face a potential reckless driving charge if they're caught going 20 mph or more over the speed limit. And their licenses can now be suspended immediately for 48 hours if they're caught drag racing, driving recklessly or violating passenger restrictions. The new rules are in response to a series of fatal accidents involving teens in Connecticut.